To whom it may concern.....

I would like to recommend that the MD of Inishowen, Co. Donegal retain its 9 Councillors. The Inishowen peninsula is bounded to the West by Lough Swilly to the North by the Atlantic and the East by Lough Foyle, leaving a small part connected to the rest of Donegal at Manorcunningham and Kilea.

Terms of Reference point 5 states "a distinct electoral area" Inishowen in my opinion falls naturally into this category.

I would like to submit that Inishowen be divided into 2 electoral areas, population 22,230 and 5 Councillors

South Inishowen

South Area

Buncrana and its environs Desertegney, Mintiaghs, Illies, Three Trees, Kilderry, Buncrana (urban & rural), Fahan, Inch, Burt, Birdstown, Castleforward, kilea, Manor, and Newtowncunningham.

North Inishowen Population 17,800 and 4 Councillors North Area

Carndonagh and its environs, Glentogher, Whitecastle, Redcastle, Castlecary, Moville Greencastle, Gleneely, Glenagannon, Ballyliffin, Straid, Dunaff, Culdaff, Turmone, Carthage, Malin, Ardmalin.

The reason for my submission is that the these 2 areas are more of a natural boundary around the 2 main towns Buncrana & Carndonagh in Inishowen, and this falls within the remit of the commission.

I hope my views will be taken into consideration and I wish you well on your endeavors.

Yours sincerely, Nicholas Crossan (Cllr)